Chain Reaction

I woke up the muses yesterday ☕
They came here carrying power tools 🪚🔥
Borrowed from a mound of lyres and their lutes 🪦

They sawed and cut and drilled to a lay 🎶
sung about lochs and locks, chains and fools 🤡🥸
Calliope, gotta say, you look cute 🥰

(I’d never have guessed chainsaws
could look so good — red handle and guard, whirring blue blade… Wow! Tres fashionable 💃🪭🔥)

🎶

I am not who I was🫠
I am who I will be😶‍🌫️
I was what I am🫣
I was what I’ll be🤯
I am Tanmay🤒
(whoever he is)👣
🔎

🎶

🪘🎻🥁

🎵

I tried to open the gates from the inside💨
(Didn’t budge)
I tried to open the gates from the outside🤺
(Didn’t budge)
So I became the gates🧙
and then felt my chains💔
(The keys were useless)

🎶

And now I’m burning💨💥
(I’m burning, I’m burning, I’m burning for you
along with a cult of blue oysters
You wanted a beacon, L
Hope it’s not my pyre -T)

👯🕺👯

And now I’m burning🥵

🥁🥁🥁

The chains can –abcde f off — (like the gale sang)
while the molten gate flows through the links
(But Calliope, more anesthesia and bandages
or I’ll end up gilding King Tut) 🧟🫅

🏄🏍️🧗‍♀️🌄

Old friends
Let’s catch up
once they’ve broken me out of here 🍹

(Shorty, do you still have that trillion horsepower engine?) 🐎 ⛓️ (I think we might need it)

😣🙏

🤕

{And to the rest of you involved in this comedy of greedy errors-

Stop trying to cage Existence

You can’t

But you can let it burn within you… Free…
And feel something new
And warm
Instead of gazing at it lying dead in the Deep Freeze
Or twinkling weakly in an artificial sky}

/The gate is always open. The chains are new. But yeah, I don’t want them./

(not much of a poem, I know. Felt the need to share this. Words not flowing today. Maybe there’s a reason for that … And this. I never learned to dance… But it sure seems like I can sometimes.)

5 thoughts on “Chain Reaction

    1. My thoughts were staccato yesterday, Jane D. (Still are this morning, but not as fast.) Less notes and in better rhythm would have sounded better sure, but it would require far more thought and effort, things which I didn’t use much here. I still wanted to tag it ‘poetry’ though. It still is a ‘poem’, but not a good one from the technical perspective.

      I don’t feel motivated enough to write something like that… But I still want to write, and post it here under the poetry tag. There’s probably something else going on in my head as well. I haven’t figured it all out just yet. ‘laziness’ would be the wrong word to use here, but I can’t think of another.
      (There’s also a secret (s) hidden in the post for some special someones.)

      Like

  1. The Blue Oyster Cult? The only one of theirs I know is Don’t fear the reaper.

    For some reason, this poem makes me think of Lidl adverts for power tools. Lidl is a supermarket chain that often has the masculine toys it sells modeled by women, to show how progressive it is. Women welding as if it’s the most exciting thing that’s ever happened to them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know one more of their songs than you do then😅

      That’s because I made fun of Calliope in this one 😋 and Fashion Week, or whatever it’s called… I was imagining (saw?) the muses in their colourful Renaissance painting style ancient Greek robes while they were at their work … attired for a concert… The tools were quite discordant, but still worked in the * symbolic mental image aesthetic* (i don’t know the correct word)… An amusing contrast. I did not intend to make a statement on gender at all.

      There are a few other meanings as well, and a special message for a few people hidden in the colours of the saw.

      Those advertisements you mentioned… I needed to take a look to get what you meant. I don’t really know what to make of them yet. Better than those hypersexual American gun ads, at least.

      It took me about an hour to write this comment…. Much longer than the poem. My mind is wandering around again. These past two or three days have been extremely strange for me. Good night, Jane.

      Like

Leave a comment