Caravan


‘Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow’
The days ring hollow
Every day a constant refresh
Spamming Control R

Work hard for success, the same old refrain
But my work’s in the drain
Entitled to a pound of my flesh
The loan sharks brought jars

‘Neither a borrower nor a lender be’
I heard during my infancy
A song  that was sung in the creche
Accompanied by a guitar

Now,  counting days with my avian companion
Bored from my incarceration
I’m stuck within a vast mesh
Of lies and half healed scars

Is my pencil ‘2B or not 2B’?
This question begins to haunt me
Starting from Gilgamesh
I plagiarize old memoirs
(In an attempt to write my own histoire)

‘Life is as tedious as twice-told tale
Vexing the dull ear of a drowsy man’
I can write forever about blazing new trails
But I’m really just walking behind the caravan

(I’m following the lead of comfort and safety
And all this ennui is driving me crazy)

Soul Food

I’m reading a recipe
In the Chicken Soul Cookbook
Spoonfuls of serenity
No added gobbledygook

I take out my trusty stove
In Pandora’s Labyrinth
The book is a treasure trove
Now let the cooking begin

Add sage , rosemary and rhyme
In a Scarborough sauce pan
Looking forward to lunchtime
I sprinkle in some lifespan

Hope stalks every movement
Made in this enormous maze
My craven soul’s improvement
Sets all my senses ablaze

Not a slurp of soul soup wasted
Liquid courage helps me stay
But I soon forget how it tasted
As I lose my way

Note: I stole the phrase Pandora’s Labyrinth from David Redpath’s poem. It was just so good…