Haunting the Silk Road

<For dVerse {Poetics: The Landscape Sleeps, Ekphrastic Prompt}>

Six companions longed for adventure
And so we made ready that night

We sailed to Egypt where pharaohs rest
And had so much to study that night

We then sailed to majestic Istanbul
Safe within walls so sturdy that night

We travelled overland through Anatolia
To Persia we walked steadily that night

We rode upon dark Mongol postal roads
Beset by thieves, things were deadly that night

Lured to go further by fame and riches
We could feel the silk already that night

I saw a child in red dance outside with glee
As we stayed with her friendly family that night

She gave us each three chrysanthemums
And a juniper berry that night

Her anklets rang as she danced for us
A guqin joined the medley that night

Then the girl vanished into the darkness
Things became very scary that night

Years ago, the father said, he’d lost his child
Our hearts grew so heavy that night

While I slept, sick, frightened,  and very tired
I heard her whisper my name ‘Tommy’ that night

[The painting is Japanese, so I’m going to have to think of an explanation for why the travellers stopped at China. Maybe the family were Japanese merchants who set up shop in Western China. I just really wanted to write something about the Silk Road. It’s been nagging at me for a day or two. Also, Thomas is my middle name.]

Later Note: I had not researched this form properly when I wrote it. I don’t think a narrative like this can be called a ghazal. There are so many rules. I will try again later.

33 thoughts on “Haunting the Silk Road

  1. I love that your poem is a complete story and the shift from ‘we’ to ‘I’ to zoom in on the specific, which is the image you chose. The repetition puts the reader in the time and place, they travel distances with the speaker and his companions and then, suddenly, as if by magic, there is the child in red dancing with glee, haunting the Silk Road. I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love that you wrote a narrative in ghazal form–so that it’s sort of a ballad that I can imagine Tommy telling many years later in front of a fire. And a ghost story–even better!
    The Silk Road is such a great topic. I don’t think it matters that the painting is Japanese–it’s simply inspiration. You could just substitute something for shamisen.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Tanmay the relentless reputation at the end of each line was most effective. His bestowed sense of urgency, and as it lingered and carried through it carried a sense of foreboding. Very well written my friend — bravo?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Even if it is not a ghazal in the truest sense, it is written in rhyming couplets and took the narrative ahead very smoothly (like silk, I would say😊). I was so engrossed in the story that it did not matter whether you were in China or Japan!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment